Can't Connect to Secure Wifi (after password change) - Forget the Network

If your password has been changed by the IT Help Centre or Library IT Desk (or you have changed it), this password must be changed to something new before you can use it to login to WiFi. Login to Gryph Mail, Courselink or Web Advisor and you will be prompted to change your password.

 

If you have an old password saved in the WiFi of your device, this can temporarily lock your account as the device will try to connect automatically with an incorrect password. Follow the steps below to "Forget" the network on all of your devices. 

 

Windows

1. Click on the Globe or WIFI icon at the bottom right corner of your screen and click on the arrow beside the wifi symbol.

 

at the bottom right is the wifi symbol, click it and then beside the wifi symbol above is an arrow pointing to the right

 

 

2. Once the list of networks shows, do a right click near the name uofg-wifi-secure  and select Forget.

 

The wifi name is listed on the left and on the right are 3 options after you right click. Select the last option which says Forget

 

3. Give the computer a few seconds to refresh the list of WIFI networks.

4. Click on uofg-wifi-secure and click connect.

5. Enter your login ID (the part before @uoguelph.ca) and password and select connect.

 

MacOS

1. Click on the WiFi icon at the top right. When the list opens, click on Wi-Fi Settings at the bottom.

 

 

2.  Click the three dots beside uog-wifi-secure. On the new window that opens, click on "Forget this Network".

 

 

3. A confirmation window will open, click on "Forget" . 

 

 

 

4. Go back to your WiFi icon. When the list of networks load, choose uog-wifi-secure and login with your Login ID (the part before @uoguelph.ca) and your password.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

iPhone

Follow the steps on this page to forget the network on an iPhone or iPad.

 

Android Phone / Tablet

1. Open the device's settings app.

 

2. Tap Network and Internet > Internet or Settings > Connections > WiFi

 

in wifi settings next to the name of the network is a gear icon or cog, tap this

 

3. Touch and hold the saved network (uofg-wifi-secure) or tap the gear icon next to the network name. Tap on the garbage can at the bottom of the screen to forget the network.

 

At the bottom of the phone is an icon of a garbage can. Tap that to forget the network.

 

4.  Go back to your wifi and choose uofg-wifi-secure from the network list and login with your login ID (part before your @uoguelph.ca ) and your password.

 

 

 

 

 
Create your own Knowledge Base